Just a word and I am clean

My devotions this morning had me in John 15.  In verse 3 Jesus says something (again) that changes my world.

11017242_403143803191428_5464704377881511339_o

Already you are clean because of the word that I have spoken to you (John 15:3).

What an amazing thing it is to learn that just a word from Jesus can obliterate a lifetime of self-seeking, sin, brokenness, waste, shame and guilt.  Just a word can take these filthy rags that I have made of my life and turn it into something beautifully pure, fit for a bride to wear on her wedding day.

The words of God are pure (Proverbs 30:5; Psalm 12:6).   They slice through the heaviness of our world and the baggage we carry and set us free.

IF we will abide in them.  

Keep reading in John 15 and we find the secret of lasting freedom:  Abiding in his words.

If anyone does not abide in me he is thrown away like a branch that withers (15:6)

If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done (15:7)

If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love (15:10)

You are my friends, if you do what I command you.

The words of God are full of if/than statements such as these.   If you will do this, than this will occur. 

Just a word from Jesus can make you clean.   And yet, how often do we run to the “words” of this world to find our nourishment?  How often do we turn to the compulsion of our choice, or the praise of our friends, the words of our family, the advice from the media, or any number of other words in order to get through the day?

If we would but only abide in the pure words of God, the only words which have the power to make us free, we would know life and life abundantly (John 10:10).

What words are you abiding by today?   Whose words are you abiding in?  When we realize that the bible is not full of old words written by dead men but the very words of Life which promise to heal, it will no longer be a chore to read, but a gift we can’t live without.

Just a word and you will be clean.   Read them, and be clean.

Leave a Reply

