No Longer Slaves

I love this song by Jonathan David and Melissa Helser along with Bethel Music.  I’ve played it over and over and like it more each time.

Today I’m grateful that Jesus came to liberate all of us who are in captivity to brokenness.  “If you abide in my word,” Jesus said, “you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free” (John 8:31-32).

I’ve discovered in my own life that when I am drifting off course or even shipwrecked completely, it’s always because I’ve stopped abiding.  I’ve ceased to run to the one who is my freedom and rest in his embrace.

If you recognize in yourself a dis-ease, a dissatisfaction with life, a compulsion to do something that always leaves you feeling empty inside, a hunger for something more, then you need not look any further than Jesus who is always accessible and always willing and abundantly capable of setting you free.  Don’t hide from him a single moment longer.    Acknowledge your need for him and begin now to abide in his word.  Every day.  Every moment.

If the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.  ~ Jesus

2 thoughts on “No Longer Slaves

Leave a Reply

