Confession Brings Glory to God

Read this in my devotion time this morning and pray it will bless someone today.

The accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accuses them before our God day and night (Rev. 12:10).

Satan is a murderer and a deceiver; he entices and he attacks.  But today he specializes in accusing.  Heaven recognizes this, and so much every Christian.  Night and day he accuses us, and his charges, which are not unfounded, are directed at our conscience – the very point where we most lack the strength to fight him.  His object is to drive us to think in despair, “I am a hopeless failure!  God can do nothing with me!”  Conscience is a precious thing, but to repeat endlessly “I am no good! I am no good!” is not Christian humility.  To confess our sins is wholesome, but let us never carry confession to the point where our sinfulness looms for us larger than the work of Christ.  The Devil knows no weapon more effective against you and me than the creation of this illusion.  What is the remedy?  Plead guilty to God. Confess to him, “Lord, I am no good!” but then remind yourself of the precious blood, and looking away to his glory, add: “But Lord, I am abiding in Thee!” 

                                                                       ~ Watchman Nee, A Table in the Wilderness

A truth that impacted my life a great deal was the remedy spoken above: Plead guilty to God.  After falling to temptation yet again for so many years I began to believe that confession was no good.   While there is a danger in false confession or being on a confession cycle and we would do well to avoid both of those, we never have to fear coming to God, humbly confessing that we are guilty.  In fact, this brings glory, not horror, to God.  

 

I learned this reading Roy Hession’s books, The Calvary Road and We Would See Jesus.  He taught me that when I run to God immediately after falling (as opposed to my former practice of waiting several days or weeks so as to allow God to “cool off” before I confessed) I bring glory to God because I am declaring that His word about me is true.   I am declaring in my confession that yes, I am am a sinner in need of a Savior, that I am guilty as charged, and that His diagnosis of my condition is confirmed in my behavior and thoughts.    Confession ultimately means agreeing with God about things God already knows about me.  

When I don’t run immediately to God and confess my failings I am essentially saying to God that He is wrong about both my condition and my need, and therefore I cut myself off from the provision He has already provided and the cure He so desires to apply.  

Do not hesitate to run to our Father in Heaven the moment the Holy Spirit convicts you of sin.   You will find there the assurance and the peace you long for and thwart the tactics of the enemy who would love to keep you in denial of your need and feeling ashamed of your plight.   

I love this promise:  

Repent therefore, and turn again, that your sins may be blotted out, that times of refreshing may come from the presence of the Lord, and that he may send the Christ appointed for you, Jesus… (Acts 3:19-20).

 

 

 

One thought on “Confession Brings Glory to God

  1. Thank you to the lord for broken relationship ca be restored again by forgiveness in Jesus blood between us and God and life wil flows again with prosper and thankgiving hearts for Christ for his blood sake,thanks and bless and win in praying,keijo sweden

Leave a Reply

