Does Jesus want me to be clean? #LukeActs2014

Chad:

Do you want to be healed? Jesus asked this question to a man who had been crippled for 38 years (John 5:6).   What a glorious question to be asked by the Creator of the Universe!   There is no question that Jesus wishes for us to be clean. The only question left unanswered is directed at each one of us: Do you want to be well? The Psalmist declared, “If I had cherished sin in my heart you would not have heard me” (66:18). God wants us healed, but sadly, far too many of us love our sin more than God, and more than the freedom we have come to think is impossible for us. But nothing is impossible for God!

Originally posted on John Meunier:

Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing,” he said. “Be clean!”And immediately the leprosy left him. (Luke 5:13, NIV)

I am faced with the question today. Do I believe that Jesus wants me to be clean? Do I really believe that?

Do I really believe that if Jesus reached out his hand, I would be clean? Clean of every dirty little secret that I don’t tell anyone. Clean of guilt and fear. Clean of the disease that lurks in the depths of my soul, cutting deals with me. “You pretend I’m not here, and I’ll let you keep trying to hold your life together by your own efforts.”

If I believe Jesus wants me to be clean, it means a couple of things, at least. First, it means dirt is not my only destiny. The sun does indeed shine and light does exist beyond the darkness. Second, it…

View original 151 more words

One thought on “Does Jesus want me to be clean? #LukeActs2014

Leave a Reply

